Dentons London crowned International Firm of the Year by The Lawyer

London—Dentons has been named “International Firm of the Year” at The Lawyer Awards, one of the most prestigious accolades within the legal industry. The ceremony took place in London on June 27, 2017.

Against very strong competition the Firm was recognised for its continued international expansion over the last 12 months, with launches in Australia, Colombia, Mexico, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama and the Netherlands; for ground-breaking innovation through the development of Nextlaw Labs and Nextlaw Global Referral Network; and for success in advising clients across multiple regions.

“This award demonstrates that our ability to offer clients the benefit of quality experience wherever they want to do business or resolve a dispute – from Canada, the US and Latin and Central America, across Europe, the Middle East and Africa, to the Asia-Pacific region – is being closely watched and admired across the globe,” said Elliott Portnoy, Dentons’ Global CEO.

Global Chairman Joe Andrew added, “Our vision of challenging the profession and innovating in client service delivery demonstrates that we continue to set the pace in the global legal market. This recognition from The Lawyer, and the continued support of our clients, validates the strategy we are pursuing to become the law firm of the future right now.”

The “International Firm of the Year” award follows several other major award wins for the Firm. Last month, Dentons won the “International Law Firm Innovation” category at the Legal Week Innovation Awards for the second consecutive year – winning for Nextlaw Labs in 2016 and Nextlaw Global Referral Network in 2017. In addition, Dentons was named “Best Managed International Firm” at the 2017 Managing Partners’ Forum (MPF) Awards for Management Excellence and became the only firm to win the MPF Awards’ “Best Performing Legal Brand” award in consecutive years. The Firm also picked up the prize for “Most Innovative Non UK-headquartered Firm” at The Lawyer’s 2016 Business Leadership Awards.